The Yale Law Journal

Robert Post, YLS '77, Named Dean of Yale Law School

Jeff Lee
25 Aug 2009

On June 22, 2009, Robert C. Post (Note Editor, Vol. 86, 1977) was named Dean and Sol and Lillian Goldman Professor of Law at Yale Law School.  Professor Post, who has been the David Boies Professor of Law at Yale since 2003, is the seventh alumnus of The Yale Law Journal to become Dean of the Law School.  He becomes the sixteenth Dean of Yale Law School, succeeding Harold Hongju Koh, who now serves as Legal Adviser to the U.S. State Department. Kate Stith, Lafayette S. Foster Professor of Law, served as Acting Dean between March and July.

Alumni of The Yale Law Journal currently serve as deans of nearly twenty of the nation's leading law schools, including Harvard (Martha Minow, '79), New York University (Richard Revesz, '83), Columbia (David Schizer, '93), the University of Pennsylvania (Michael Fitts, '79), the University of Virginia (Paul Mahoney, '84), the University of Michigan (Evan Caminker, '86), and Georgetown (T. Alexander Aleinikoff, '77).